3 Replies Latest reply: Oct 5, 2016 1:22 AM by Finnur Gudmundsson RSS

Zoning for Nimble Storage FC Array

Nico Duwana Newbie
    Visibility: Open to anyone

Hi,

I'm new to Nimble Storage. We use EMC and Hitachi active-active controller arrays back in my office and I want to know how you do zoning for Nimble's active-standby controller arrays. With EMC VNX or Hitachi HUS, on each fabric FC switch you will connect one leg from each storage controller, e.g. SPA0 and SPB0 and on the other fabric FC switch, another set of leg, e.g. SPA1 and SPB1. For each you will create alias and each host hba (initiator) will have at least 2 zones in a fabric: e.g. HOST1_HBA1_VNX_SPA1 (for HOST1_HBA1 and storage SPA1), and HOST1_HBA1_VNX_SPB1 (for HOST1_HBA1 and storage SPB1). How is it done on Nimble? I read Nimble Fibre Channel:  In the Zone - A discussion around best practice with Fibre Channel Zones and see for Nimble with 2 set of FC ports (e.g. CS1000), you have FC1 and FC2 on the active controller, and another FC1 and FC2 on the standby controller? Is the WWPN for FC1 from the active controller the same as that for FC1 of the standby controller? When doing zoning in 1 fabric FC switch, how many zones do you need to create for each host's HBA? With VNX:

HOST1_HBA1_VNX_SPA1

HOST1_HBA1_VNX_SPB1

With Nimble, is it only 1 zone (HOST1_HBA1_FC1)? And this 1 zone is enough to provide Host1 HBA1 access to the other standby controller when it becomes active controller?

Thanks in advance & regards,

Nico

• Re: Zoning for Nimble Storage FC Array
          jstinson Wayfarer

Hi Nico,